Positive Thinking: Is It Powerful?

The Rose? Or the darkness behind it?

One psychologist’s suggestions for improvement or life changes are paraphrased below.  Platitudes about positive thinking alone are not convincing,  but she pointed out how and why it works.

To paraphrase her words:  The subconscious mind does not judge, but only seeks to obey our thoughts and  unconsciously bring about situations and actions to make them come to pass .  We therefore must learn first of all, to recognize a negative thought, stop it cold in it’s tracks, and challenge the downer with a positive believable and convincing alternative.  The subconscious will adopt the newest thought, the positive one, and will set in motion, things to make it come to pass.

Can this affirmation technique help us examine situations and see if a positive light can shine on them?

For example, Mondays are a fabulous opportunity for a fresh start to the work week!  Have a good one, all.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marion Spicher
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 10:00:34

    The Rule of Three Writer’s Blogfest http://amloki.blogspot.com/p/sign-up-for-rule-of-three-blogfest.html promises a great “follow.” I’ll be watching, wishing I could participate this time around. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Your Health! « Kate Wood's Blog
  3. Damyanti
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 21:31:19

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for your kind comments on the the Rule of Three Writers’ Blogfest!

    Positive thinking is what keeps me going from day to day…I keep telling myself I can do it!

    Reply

  4. Marcia Richards
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 20:02:03

    Thought provoking, Marion! Change your mind; change your world. Turn negatives into positives…you just have to want to. Thanks for a great start to the week!

    Reply

    • Marion Spicher
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:13:45

      For some, getting to the “want to” is the hardest part. Many are able to do it, but some cannot until some internal and external changes are in sync. It happened for me during a bizarre spiritual journey.

      Reply

  5. Tameri Etherton
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 19:56:09

    Love it! I’m a firm believer in positive thoughts/positive action.

    As for Mondays? I call them Magical Mondays on my blog because I’ve always felt that Monday gives us a chance to make whatever we want of the week. Why wait for Friday to get the party started? Monday is fresh and new – anything can happen!

    Reply

  6. katewoodauthor
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 16:46:00

    Positive thinking is a powerful tool. Thanks for this reminder, Marion!

    Reply

    • Marion Spicher
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:18:42

      You are most welcome. Thinking and acting ‘as if’ can make it come to pass for many. Times do arise when we must wait … Thanks for stopping by to share your thoughts.

      Reply

  7. Laurie Ryan
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 09:22:49

    You might have a little trouble getting folks to embrace that new beginning on Mondays thing. I remember when I worked a 9-5. It was tough to get up that morning. lol
    The sentiment is great and I think it’s spot-on. We can change our world just by changing our attitude.

    Reply

    • Marion Spicher
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:26:34

      I remember those days, Laurie. Grin. Putting the last load in the dryer Sunday night at bedtime, then taking a few minutes alone to refresh after everyone else had gone to bed. The next thing I knew the alarm jarred me into the Monday, breakfast, pack lunches for kids, get them off to school, fold the laundry, grab my stuff for the day, and out the door. But I loved my job and looked forward to seeing my co-workers.

      I’m still trying to get the hang of the attitude thing. But it does work more often than not! And I marvel.

      Reply

  8. Pamela Beason
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 07:52:42

    Wonderful thoughts, Marion. I am going forth into Monday with a positive attitude! Thanks.

    Reply

    • Marion Spicher
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:22:18

      Nice to see you here Pam. You’ve had the grindstone threatening you for quite some time, and you do set a great example for writers regarding your dedication to writing. Hope your Monday was great!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Christine Fairchild: Editor Devil

  • Show, Don't Tell... And why Scene-style Writing is More Effective January 21, 2014
    Happy 2014, and sorry to have been absent so long. Working on book two of my series and building our other blog (www.BeachReadAuthors.blogspot.com)... I've missed the lively editing discussions we had here, so I'm going to use my ideas spurred from my current class, Sensational Scenes (which is open for enrollment thru 1/24 http://ce.savvyauthors.c […]
  • Remember to Fact Check Story Details! July 29, 2013
    Everyone loves a story told with rich details. Even I say that a story has to be 80-90% factual to be believable. The other 10-20% gives room for "fiction", or the made up part. But lately I've been thrown out of stories by physical details not in line with reality. They were innocent, but made the reader blink. In baseball terms, they would b […]
  • Secrets of the Smirking Editor July 4, 2013
    Welcome, Eilis Flynn, who's here to give her insight into how editors think and operate based on her years of vast, colorful experience working as both an author AND an editor. She's also arranged a sponsorship from Grammarly for her post and is offering a $15 Amazon gift card for one lucky person who comments on this post (see details below). Take […]
  • From Corporate Editor to Indie-published Historical Women's Fiction Author April 18, 2013
    UPDATE:  Lisa is giving away her book to one lucky winner who leaves a comment...winners chosen randomly of course, but be sure to leave your email address :) Today we have a guest interview with award-winning author, Lisa Costantino, who's recently published her debut women's historical fiction book, Maiden's Veil.   As an editor and an autho […]
  • Top 10 Marketing No’s-No’s for Authors April 15, 2013
    Today's guest post comes from the formidable marketing team of C. Morgan Kennedy and Therese Patrick, who offer great tips and tricks on building your brand and book promotion at http://www.authormarketing101.com/. When they taught at the Emerald City Writers Conference last year, they offered a truly effective workshop on building a author marketing pl […]
  • More Lessons from Indie Publishing February 5, 2013
    Since this is my birthday week (Wed, FEB 6 is my bday), I decided to share what I've learned in the last year since publishing four books as an indie author. 1) Getting READY to be published definitely took a village. I couldn't be where I am without my husband, who's supporting us financially, and my critique group partners, who helped whip m […]
  • Find Joy & Balance for Christmas December 25, 2012
    Today we have a special guest for Christmas Day... my friend and writing critique partner, Kim Hornsby, who is one of the most effervescent, fun, creative, determined and inspiring people I know. She's been an art teacher in elementary schools, a singer who opened for famous muscians, an actress, a dive instructor, and a loyal and true friend to me for […]
  • Welcome to a Birthday Bash! December 19, 2012
    Happy Birthday, Amber Kallyn, and thanks for making us apart of your giveaway extravaganza and this great chain of authors (see list below). Take it away, Amber...   Welcome to Amber Kallyn’s Birthday Bash. We’ve got some great giveaways for you to win! I love the holidays, but not necessarily having my birthday fall smack dab in the middle of them, LOL. But […]
  • Combining Dreams & Research to Write Historical Fiction December 2, 2012
    Please welcome Anna Brentwood, who is sharing with us her the path toward her dream-inspired 1920's historical novel with lots of gangsters, action and details of a long-lost era. Take it away, Anna.... MAKING HER DREAMS A REALITY ‘The Songbird with Sapphire Eyes’ came to me in a sequence of three very detailed and realistic dreams, so in a sense, I did […]
  • Writing Historical vs. Contemporary Fiction November 4, 2012
    Today we're honored to host award-winning author of contemporary western fiction, Paty Jager, who'll be sharing insights on writing historical vs. contemporary fiction. Please comment on Paty's post for a chance to win a prize and to show your thanks. Take it away, Paty....   Thank you for having me here today, Christine. Giveaway This is the […]
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 550 other followers

